top of page

A Breath of Fresh Awe

Sikkim is one of the most beautiful places I had the opportunity to visit and I would recommend everyone to travel to the North-Eastern states of India once. I’d like to share one of my experiences during one such trip about a decade ago. We were returning from our day long drive across the town and its fringes. It was almost dark and my parents were preoccupied with their negotiations with the driver. I took this chance to walk around the town tucked away high in the hills, along the winding peripheral roads overlooking the most breathtaking valley with few scattered homes, away from all the worldly chatter. The town was not yet visible on the tourist radar and vehicular traffic was quiet less. In between every flashes of the rare passing headlights it to got dark enough not to distinguish between the mountain ranges and the night sky. And those scattered houses across the landscape with faintly lit bulbs, looked like stars, as if they had fallen on the Earth. Come to think of it, I felt like I flew off of Earth and was floating into space, staring into its vastness, into the infinity of stars. I swear, in that moment I truly was.

It is little moments like these that I love to travel. It’s the beauty, the sense of adventure, the random photograph of John Lennon in the cafe or your favorite quote of Bob Marley framed on the wall of a local restaurant that strikes up a conversation with the locals. So, keep that wanderlust alive and run.

Comments


about.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page